There is No Such Thing as Too Much Ice Cream

I love summer. I love everything about it. Laying in the sun, boating, fishing, running in a sports bra, the fact that everything is green, but most importantly, I love ice cream. July is one of my favorite months of the year because it’s National Ice Cream Month, which means that it is socially acceptable for me to eat ice cream for 31 days straight and not feel even remotely bad about it. I kind of made that happen this summer. I tried 21 different flavors throughout the month of July, and therefore it was the best month of my life. I am a sucker for a good vanilla ice cream and also anything with cake pieces in it, so several of the flavors I ate were more classic flavors like Blue Bell’s “homemade vanilla” and vanilla bean. But I also tried some more non-traditional flavors like black raspberry, toasted coconut and peanut butter S’mores.

icecream10

Now I’m no food-critic, but I sure do love my dairy so I’m going to share my thoughts on each of the fantastic flavors that I tried throughout National Ice Cream Month. Here’s the 21 flavors that I put in my belly:

  • Toasted Coconut (The Ice Cream Club)
    • Vanilla ice cream with pieces of toasted coconut
  • True to the Blue (Perry’s)
    • Vanilla ice cream with blue chocolate-covered pretzels. I absolutely LOVE chocolate-covered pretzels. This was the most simple, yet delicious ice cream I’ve ever had!
  • Bear Claw
    • Dark chocolate ice cream with massive amounts of caramel and chocolate-covered nuts. To die for.
  • P.S. Mint Rules (The Ice Cream Club)
    • This one was stellar. Mint ice cream with brownie chunks and chocolate fudge swirls. By far the best mint ice cream variety I’ve ever had.

icecream12

  • Red Velvet
    • Red velvet flavored ice cream with chunks of red velvet cake. Literally heaven in a cone.
  • Salted Caramel
    • Caramel-flavored ice cream with caramel swirls and peanuts

icecream2

  • Cheesecake Brownie (Ben and Jerry’s)
    • THIS IS MY FAVORITE ICE CREAM EVER. Cheesecake-flavored ice cream with chunks of cheesecake brownies. I consumer copious amounts of this when I study for final exams.

icecream4

  • Strawberry Yogurt
    • Frozen yogurt-style ice cream, with a sensational strawberry flavo

icecream3

  • Outlaw
    • Vanilla ice cream with caramel, chocolate chips and nuts. Made me feel like I was an outlaw and it was absolutely fantastic.

icecream5

  • Southern Peach Cobbler (Blue Bell)
    • I ate this one down in Georgia. It was perfect for the occasion. Great vanilla ice cream with pieces of peach cobbler and peaches. YUM.

icecream6

  • Homemade Vanilla (Blue Bell)
    • The most delicious vanilla ice cream I’ve come across in my almost 24 years of life.
  • Vanilla Bean
    • Another great vanilla variety. You can really taste the bean!
  • Birthday Cake
    • NEED I SAY MORE? It actually tastes like you’re eating birthday cake. And there’s chunks of vanilla cake and pretty sprinkles in it too, so obviously it won me over.
  • Strawberry Shortcake (Galliker Dairy Company)
    • Exactly as it sounds. Vanilla ice cream with strawberries and chunks of cake.

photo-18

  • Cookies and Cream (Blue Bell)
    • Have I mentioned that I love Blue Bell ice cream? One of the best cookies and cream I’ve tasted to date. Just very very creamy and rich!
  • Root Beer Float
    • Okay, so this wasn’t an ice cream flavor. But I made myself a root beer float because they are awesome.

icecream8

  • Peanut Butter S’mores (Perry’s)
    • This is basically the greatest creation ever. Everything you’d find in a S’mores plus peanut butter.

icecream11

  • Black Raspberry
    • A pretty purple ice cream that tastes just like black raspberry, with chocolate (potentially dark chocolate) pieces.
  • Chocolate
    • Because you can’t go through National Ice Cream Month without eating a good plain chocolate ice cream.
  • Espresso
    • I just love coffee flavored ice creams. Mainly because I just really like coffee.
  • Sponge Candy

And that’s that, folks. Let me know if you are interested in learning more about any of the above flavors or companies that make them. Ice cream companies do a great job of providing a variety of amazing frozen treats for all types of sweet-tooths. If you can’t find what you’re looking for in this post, you’ll be sure to come across a favorite flavor or a new, exciting flavor at a local ice cream shop or grocery store. All because National Ice Cream Month is over doesn’t mean we need to stop celebrating and eating ice cream! I personally celebrate allllll year long.

icecream7

Next year, I will make sure that I try a different flavor of ice cream each and every day of July in celebration of National Ice Cream Month. Because let’s be serious, there just isn’t such thing as too much ice cream.

-MollsyMoo

Leave a Reply

